You can edit a protocol in the Protocols repository or in the Protocol steps overview.
In Protocols repository you can edit only the protocols visible to you (your private protocols).
Team protocols, however, can be edited only by the creator of the protocol.
When you open the Protocols repository in the left menu, select a protocol and click the Edit button. You can start creating new protocol steps by clicking Add new or you can edit the existing protocol steps by clicking the Edit step icon in the right corner of the protocol step.
You can then edit protocol step name, its description, checklists, tables or you can add/remove files. After you are finished with editing an individual protocol step, click Save in the left lower corner.
In Protocol steps overview all project members can edit the protocol. To edit a protocol in the Protocol steps overview, you have to open a task first, then the process is the same as described above.
For easier understanding see the GIF below.