In order to keep track of different version, you first need to open an individual task to see the Protocol steps overview and continue with making changes to the protocol. After you finish editing the parent protocol, you have to save it in the Protocols repository under a different name, so you don’t to lose its original content. This way you can create different versions of the parent protocol (i.e. child protocols) as seen on the image below.
Once the protocols are saved under the Public protocols tab in the Protocols repository, they become available to other team members and can be reused (loaded) in other tasks.